A Planner Learns to Appreciate the Bumps in the Road

FRIDAY, MARCH 2, 2012

As anyone who is close to me knows, I am undoubtedly a planner. I like to have my days and weeks arranged in nice lists of tasks to accomplish. When it comes to my school work, it’s not uncommon for me to work at least a few days, if not a week, ahead of schedule. My goal is to make sure that I have everything accomplished on time, and that everything has its time to be taken care of.

And yet, life does not always accommodate my desires. On a daily basis, I find that new, unexpected things arise that cause me to adjust my plans. As frustrating as this can be, I know that it’s good for me. Besides, you never know when a great opportunity might present itself…

Readers of my previous blog posts will be aware that I’ve had some frustrations lately. My summer plans (as I had them laid out so precisely!) got changed a few weeks ago when I found I could no longer go to Honduras. This change triggered a network of worry about what I am going to do this summer. However, as I have experienced with the little things that arise and can make a day better, I found that having a little faith can bring about something wonderful.

As I fretted over what job, internship or volunteer experience I would take this summer, I kept thinking about how much I enjoy my current internship with Benedict Inn. After some contemplation, I realized that through the fact that my plans were being altered, perhaps God was opening my eyes to other possibilities…including the possibility of staying on with Benedict Inn this summer.

After discussing the opportunity with both Benedict Inn and Butler’s Center for Faith and Vocation, I am so excited to say that I will be continuing my internship this summer. I believe that God called me to do the internship this semester for a reason, and so, likewise, I believe I am being called to continue this work. As of now, I do not know what exactly lies in store for me, but, surprisingly, I am okay with that. I’m simply thrilled to know that I will be able to continue to do work that I believe has a positive impact on those I encounter at Benedict Inn.

Leave a Reply

