Reflection

SUNDAY, JULY 8, 2012

In an article on the busy pace of life, writer Margaret J. Wheatley commented, “time for reflection with colleagues is for me a life saver; it is not just a nice thing to do if you have the time.”

Wise words. We all know how fast-paced life is: how hours become days, and things we planned to do yesterday never got satisfactorily checked off our to-do list. In particular, it is difficult to sit down & concentrate on activities that seem more passive, such as contemplation and reflection. We’re so concerned with achieving goals with concrete results (read this book, write that report, attend some meeting, etc.) that we don’t always make room in our schedules for time to be quiet and to think about what all those accomplishments mean.

Fortunately for me, I was reminded of the importance of reflection by the director of Butler’s Center for Faith and Vocation, a friend and someone I trust. We were discussing some of the perspective I have gained through my internship. I was trying to explain my eagerness to get out and WORK after school. She suggested that I think more on this, because it is something I can talk to employers about in an interview. I can explain to them that I see the issues and struggles of this world and that I want to work toward improving and solving them.

This made me pause and think about my work ethic…something I hadn’t really mused on before. I have always considered myself determined, but have not fully contemplated why. From what I have considered so far, I believe in my abilities to help others and want to do so in a hands-on manner that allows me to work with and for those who need me.

Would I have thought to articulate something like this without reflection with a colleague? Probably not. This is why it’s so important to set aside time to reflect on experiences, both alone and with others. Think about it, journal about it, blog about it, pray about it…whatever works, whatever gets you thinking and finding meaning in what you do.

Leave a Reply

