K through B.A.

After some thinking, and some encouragement, I believe it’s time to get back to blogging. For the past couple months, I have been journeying through my final semester as an undergrad at Butler. Not surprisingly, I’ve done a lot of thinking, and have realized that my life doesn’t have to be so compartmentalized: for example, just because my internship ended doesn’t mean I leave that experience behind, or that I have to leave this blog, that includes valuable reflections, behind either.

Reflection is something that many people may take for granted. I’m not sure we really take the opportunity to appreciate the time and emotions that are involved in reflection, if we make the effort to reflect at all. Blogging has taught me that reflection is so very important in not only evaluating what has occurred in my life, but how I am shaped by it and how I choose to respond.

As my friends know, I am a runner, one who does some of her most constructive thinking on long, solo runs. Yesterday, as I set out to enjoy the beauty of autumn, I experienced a moment of revelation. Suddenly, something quite profound struck me: in a few weeks’ time, I will possess a college degree.

Wow.

I paused mentally for a moment to reflect on what that truly means. It might sound silly but it even took my breath away. I thought about how much of my life, and others’ lives – time, energy, emotion, even money – has brought me to this point. Lately, the most common question I’m asked has been, “What are you doing after graduation?” I myself have come to think of this semester, and graduation, as the final hurdle to jump over to get to my “real life.” (Which itself is a totally ridiculous thought, because all aspects of my life are my “real life.”) I haven’t taken time to appreciate what attaining a college degree really means to me, and that made me sad.

I worry that I’ve undervalued all the parts of my life that have led me to graduating college. I worry that society undervalues my attaining an undergraduate degree because of the notion that there is always more to have.

I’d like to encourage my peers, not just those graduating with me this December, to take time to reflect on what this degree means to him or her. What of yourself have you put into this process? What have you received from this process? What, besides a potential career, does this degree mean in your life? Take the time to appreciate your accomplishment before continuing on your journey.

Leave a Reply

